A Great Man Once Said…

There were, are, and will be many great men. Just like many inspirational and wisdoms of truth have been had, there are brilliant sentences yet to be spoken. One of my more recent favorite quotes from a not so well known individual with an adventurous lifestyle and heart of gold said [and I quote]: In the context of talking about life and moving forward, “the only way to get started moving is to get in the boat.” ~Bruce H. (5/11/2015)

Ok, so it may seem a little cliche, but for some reason this simple phrase clicked with me. I realize that in a lot of my posts I talk about my past mistakes, forgiving and forgetting, and of course, moving on. It’s unfortunate that it’s taken me so long to understand this, well, maybe on the level I do now, but throughout my experiences, occasional nightmares, and self-revelations, I’ve learned there are things I will allow myself to accept, things that I will challenge myself to change, and things that only God knows that will potentially question, but also strengthen my faith.

So, what have I learned? Well for starters, you always, always, have your family. Secondly, your friends. Third, your dog, or beloved pet.

Additionally, sometimes the things you want most in life, are the things most worth waiting for: an incredible job, the opportunity to travel the world, a wonderful partner ( who, mind you, doesn’t always have to be a human – mine usually has 4 legs, sheds constantly, and responds to the word “cookie”), a house filled with children, or even a vacation. Everyone wants something from this life. This life that brings unique stories to the world, and with each story a new journey, and each journey, a different ending.

As I was rummaging through some of my school folders, I found one that is now taped to my desk that serves as a wonderful reminder to me every day. It appears as follows:

“I have come to accept the feeling of not knowing where I am going. And I have trained myself to love it. Because it is only when we are suspended in mid-air with no landing in sight, that we force our wings to unravel and alas begin our flight. And as we fly, we still may not know where we are going to. But the miracle is in the unfolding of the wings. You may not know where you’re going, but you know that so long as you spread your wings, the winds will carry you.”

First things first, in order to get moving, don’t forget to get in the boat.

~Cheers~

Leave a Reply

