What’s Your Reason?

I do it to push myself. I do it to get out of my own head, away from my incessant thoughts; they vary from school, to the future and the past, to questioning and often reminiscing on former [failed] relationships *dryly laughs*. I wonder about parallel universes, do they exist? I think so. Just imagine the endless possibilities of ways certain life choices could have played out. All the “what ifs,” “whys,” and “hows” would be answered… This may sound strange, especially coming from me, a girl that over-analyzes every past decision, current thought, and future idea…yet somehow, I love planning the future. I aspire to do great things, change lives, make a difference in the world. Even if it is a small and unnoticeable difference to the greatest of the great, I aim that it will inspire the strong and humble – those like me who are not great, but dare greatly.

That, is who I am.

I push myself to test my limits, my abilities, and my strengths. I set a distance, run it, then run a little farther. I take one more stroke in the chlorinated water before allowing myself to inhale the oxygen that my lungs and heart take advantage of everyday. I study just an extra hour or two in the morning or at night, pushing my sleep to the side in order to memorize and understand those last few terms and concepts.

Let me make myself clear:

I. Dare. Greatly.

I do not need a man to make my heart race. I can do that for myself, pushing myself faster and harder till I feel my muscles burn and see my heart beating out of my chest. I have learned that in order to love, or be loved, I need to love myself first. In a world as competitive as this one, I must watch out for myself. I have learned to endure, if not love the struggle and hardships, because from these experiences I recognize how wonderful the good days are, the great friends and incredible family that I have, and most importantly, this life I live.

So when all those thoughts come roaming through my head, the thoughts that drive me out of my mind crazy, I use them to my advantage. I race them, I challenge them. I will use them to my advantage, to make myself better, faster, stronger. I want to make people in my past watch me grow up and move on. I want to show people today that I am reliable, intelligent, and aggressive. Even in my future, I will show my future colleagues, potential dates, and employers, that I am who I say I am. And that when I set my mind to it, that I will accomplish it.

Why? Because I dare greatly.

“It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again, because there is no effort without error and shortcoming; but who does actually strive to do the deeds; who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions; who spends himself in a worthy cause; who at the best knows in the end the triumph of high achievement, and who at the worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory nor defeat.                                                                                                                   ~Theodore Roosevelt

You gain strength

~cheers~

Leave a Reply

