To: My Friend. From: Yours Truly.

Words are powerful, it is true that they often times speak louder than actions. They are made from simple strung together letters and are given a mission, a meaning, and an emotion. When used carefully, they become a force with which to be reckoned. One that can potentially cause great damage, or one that can leave you in pure wonder and amazement.

I have a friend who is a persuasive writer. Persuasive in the sense that you can hear his voice in his writing…His writing is not just poetic, but it is also intelligent. He is a special kind of wallflower. He sees, understands, and analyzes. What he perceives translates differently than what I would discern. He thinks and writes like he dresses: in a rational and sophisticated manner. He is genuine, letting his analytical brain dictate, but mostly his heart translate. It makes for a beautiful composition.

There have been two occasions in which we have been speaking, and I have accidentally fallen asleep…waking up to a few new emails, a couple snapchats, and a text message. But not just any text message. A poem, an encouragement, a limerick that nearly brings me to tears because it feels like finally, finally, I am understood. That is one [of many] things this writer and I have in common…We have ballroom danced under the stars, felt the enchantment of life, and heard the people sing – all through the power of words…

 and I have yet to reply.

but how can I? What do I say?

How can I respond to such an eloquently written message? To such passionate thoughts that even my heart has troubling grasping? My mind clings for words, searching for the perfect sentence, the perfect counter, the perfect… je ne sais quoi.

I leave it blank.

I have to say something

I am utterly speechless.

I read it over, and over, and over. How?

How does he know what to say? (that’s a stupid question…but yet, here I am…still nothing.) 

. . . 

He is indescribable. Words will never do him justice as he is a unique wallflower, one you would never expect to even be a wallflower, but that’s just it…A wallflower’s perspective.

“I guess we are who we are for a lot of reasons. And maybe we’ll never know most of them. But even if we don’t have the power to choose where we come from, we can still choose where we go from there.”

~cheers~

Leave a Reply

