Battle Scars

…Do you want to know how I got these scars?

The strongest people are not those who show strength in front of us but those who win battles we know nothing about.

Scars are beautiful. To me, they are life’s natural designs… Similar to tattoos, they are permanent stories that unveil something personal about us. Some are as old as time, reaching all the way back to our adolescent years and our “minor” incidents. Others are from the grace of bringing a new life in to the world – such an honor for us women. And of course, we can’t forget the good ol’ fix-me-up surgeries. Likewise, there are also the scars from battles no one knew anything about, battles that you may have fought alone…

a battle consisting of you versus you; or even greater, you against the world…

Scars are also roadmaps. They track our activities, evoking all memories surrounding the event – recollections that may bring back a sense of adventure, passion, and joy…while others may remind us of loneliness, sorrows, and heartbreak.

I love when people notice my scars. It tells me that they notice me. All of me. They see my flaws, my imperfections, and sometimes even my brokenness (in both a literal and figurative sense).

I have a little over 16 physical scars, some more noticeable than others, covering various parts of my skin. They all have their own story to tell…but ask nicely and it may be revealed.

Psychological scars are different story. These are the scars no one can see, or feel for that matter, except the beholder. I wouldn’t consider them dangerous, instead I would define them as delicate and sensitive to the touch. (*Ironic because how can you touch something you never knew was there to begin with?). They are suppressed experiences, sometimes holding damaged memories that have yet to heal. The only way for them to heal is with time, love, and lots of patience.

I haven’t counted these.

Scars are not stitched together to remind us of the emotion in our past shortcomings, they are here to accentuate our courage, fearlessness, and utmost strength to overcome whatever it was impeding our travel on the road to success, the road to happiness.

Be proud of your scars, embrace them! They are a part of your story, a part of who you are today.

Sometimes the things that seem to hurt us the most are the very things that bring out the best in us…

They are the struggles that help us discover the faith we thought we’d lost…

the strength we didn’t know we had…

the courage to let go of the past and begin again…

Because the challenges help us see who we really are,

where we want to go,

and what our lives can be

if only we have faith and keep on trying.

~cheers~

3 thoughts on “Battle Scars

  1. I can’t even deal!!! Beth, I absolutely loved this post! Also, it’s crazy how similarly you and Luis think! You posted about similar topics again today and I just love getting such awesome perspectives!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A couple thoughts…
    1. Great minds think alike!! Excellent post, if I do say so myself! 🙂 As always, beautifully written and ironically enough, wonderful topic!!
    2. CAN I JUST SAY THAT THE FIRST LINE IS LIKE…. OMG I had a mini party in my room! I LOVE the Joker!! Quite possibly the greatest quote in the history of quotes. You made my day! 🙂
    Truly, you’ve amazed me yet again!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this! You’re definitely some new age freedom fighter or philosopher (that’s meant to be a compliment). I love how you take all the little bits of life like laughter, strength, etc and expand and develop them beautifully. Word to my homie! (I assume that’s a praise of some sort. Maybe a greeting? Ionno.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

